Skip navigation

It’s funny how something profound suddenly pops up in our heads when you least expect it. Mine happened a few hours ago.

I’ve always been geeky as far as I can remember. Maybe a bit too intellectual (or feeling scientific minded? XD) but still fascinated by all things in nature that I  find life so fascinating I can’t help but think too much.

And so it happened I was watching (episode 5 of) that 1981 BBC TV series The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy on YouTube when suddenly a thought came to mind. One that is so simple it’s astonishing I wondered why I haven’t thought of it before.

hitchhikers_guide_tv_titles

Part of Douglas Adams’ story deals with a super computer, Deep Thought, created to answer the Ultimate Question of Life, The Universe, and Everything to which it is stated the answer is the number 42. Now what kind of an answer is that, right?

As a follow up, that computer said you have to have the right questions to have the right answer, to which the right question can only be found on Earth which have been destroyed before that question could have been extracted (or something) by the mice.

And then somehow I had to take a pee break and guess what, the answer to the purpose of life came to me: It is to make life better for each other, or for that matter everyone.

Now that doesn’t sound so bad does it? Actually it sounds quite easy…

*    *    *

Uhm, so let’s just leave it at that shall we. I should be preparing to go to mass now. 🙂 Happy Sunday!

Reply here